Bucyrus students recognized during board meeting

Bucyrus students recognized during board meeting
Posted on 02/29/2016

Student success and achievement was center stage during the Bucyrus City School District Board of Education Feb. 25. More than 30 students received commendations from the board for various accomplishments and activities.

The first group of students recognized were those whose art work has adorned the hallway of the Lincoln Administrative Center. Those students included: AnneMarie Covey, Grace Jackson, Kaho Miyake, Michael Paavo- Taylor, Mykala Houseburg, Haley Oberlander, Alexis Pival, Bryce Stewart, Nathaniel Amos, Karmyn Blizzard, Makyla Ferris and Taisha Spears. Grace Jackson received a second commendation for her staff Christmas Card artwork.

The next group of students recognized were those who qualified for the Crawford County and Tri-County Spelling Bees. Those students included: Ashley Davis, Allison Fraser, Gunner Hofer, Rosalyn Johnson, Malia Posey, Rayne Wilson and Alex Wion.

Finally, the members of the National Honor Society received a special commendation from the 131st General Assembly of the Ohio Senate. Those students included: Jacob Bloomfield, Emily Elchert, Breanna Fry, Hannah Gulley, Mason Kent, Claire Miller, Loarel Mollenkopf, Bailey Plumley, Catherine Pojman, Kayleigh Seiber, Gabriella Seibert, Julia VanVoorhis and Antonia Ziegler.

Later in the meeting, the Board approved all personnel and business agenda items as presented. The next regular monthly meeting will be held at 7:00 p.m. in the Lincoln Administrative Center Thursday, March 24, 2016.