Bucyrus Board of Education filled with recognition and celebration

Bucyrus Board of Education filled with recognition and celebration
Posted on 05/22/2015

As another school year comes to a close, there are many reasons to celebrate for the Bucyrus City School District. The Board of Education spent time recognizing and thanking those who freely give their time to help Bucyrus students achieve success during the regular meeting May 21.

Nearly 100 community members received Board of Education commendations for their efforts volunteering in the district. Individuals recognized during the meeting are listed below.

Volunteers - Pastor Dan and Karolyn Rebon, Dee Miley, Josh Dyer (Lowe Volk Park Nature Center), Diane Sand (Crawford Soil and Water District), Kelly Burke (BES PTO), Kristine Fourman (BES PTO), April Hollis (BES PTO), Tonya Kimmel (BES PTO), Kaye Pifer (BES PTO), Renee Stratton (BES PTO), Erin Mutchler-Rose (BES PTO), and Renee Tyrrell (BES PTO), Darla Turner (BEST After School Program), Amy Plumley (Academic Boosters), Nancy Lipscomb (Academic Boosters), Tonya Kimmel (Academic Boosters), Traci Wetterau (Academic Boosters), Deb Dostal (Junior Achievement), Lianne Dotlin (Junior Achievement), Virginia Hammontree (Junior Achievement), Skylar Mefford (Junior Achievement), Matt Novak (Junior Achievement), Mike Prenger (Junior Achievement), Dave Rader (Junior Achievement), Presten Render (Junior Achievement), Adam Sheppard (Junior Achievement), Meredith Wilson (Junior Achievement), Brad Murtiff (Volunteer Coach), Dorthy Williams (Volunteer Coach), Kody Charlton (Volunteer Coach), Kristen Orewiler (Volunteer Coach), Kalvin Lewis (Volunteer Coach), Justin Dunford (Volunteer Coach), Neill Ley (Volunteer Coach), Joe Roberts Volunteer Coach)

Bucyrus Elementary Mentors - Helen Carter, Pastor Mike Corwin, Denise Clady, Deb Dostal, Mike Dostal, Fran Easterday, Peter Maynard, Susan Maynard, Diane Moore, Erica Rahm, Pastor Dan Rebon, Troy Shutler, Amy Sullivan, George Thornton, Jeanice Whitmeyer, Dave Wise, Ashley Zornes

Reading Program Volunteers - Maxine Brown, Joyce Hahn, Nina Leitzy, Peter & Susan Maynard, Enid Thomas, Dorothy Truman, Dorothy Watts, Bill Williams, Diane Ahlefeld, Julie Bierce, Lisa Blizzard, Carol Carpenter, Lucy Dicks, Nicole Diller, Zach Griffin, Steve Hoover, Tim Kaple, Rebecca Kriner, Erin Mutchler-Rose, Kate Rothhaar, Tiffany Scherer, Jessica Scott, Robin Showers, Sue Stuckman, Rebecca VanHesteren, Kim Williams, Leah Barger (Right to Read committee), Kim Binnix (Right to Read committee), Kristine Fourman (Right to Read committee), Becky Gottfried (Right to Read committee), Kim Haldeman (Right to Read committee), Deb Hoover (Right to Read committee), Brittany Kaple (Right to Read committee), Diane Kaple (Right to Read committee), Jenay Pfeifer (Right to Read committee), Rhonda Shifley (Right to Read committee), Diane Spitler (Right to Read committee)

"We are incredibly grateful for the time each of these individuals give to our district, students and staff," Superintendent Kevin Kimmel said. "It truly does take a village to raise a child, and the Bucyrus City School District is lucky to have such a dedicated and caring group of volunteers."

If you would be interested in volunteering in the Bucyrus City School District, please call the Bucyrus Elementary School office at 419-562-6089 or the Bucyrus Secondary School office at 419-562-7721.